There are 62 Cantonments in the country which are located in 16 States and National Capital Territory of Delhi. Cantonment Board are Statuorily constituted corporate bodies and comprise of elected representatives besides ex-officio and nominated members. The Station Commander, who is military officer, is the President of the Cantonment Board. 2. Cantonment Boards are local bodies constituted under the provisions of the Cantonments Act 1924. These are under the administrative control of Government of India in the Ministry of Defence. As per Section 45-A of the Cantonments Act, every Board shall, as soon as may be, after the close of the year, submit to the Central Government, through the Officer Commanding-in-Chief, the Command, a report on the administration of the Cantonment during the preceding financial year. 3. GOC-in-Chief of the Army Command concerned acts as the local Govt. for the Cantonments situated within his Command. The administration of the Cantonments is supervised by the Defence Estates Organisation.
An Officer of the Service is posted as Cantonment Executive Officer in each Cantonment. A Senior Officer, Principal Director/Director, DE of the level of Additional Secretary/Joint Secretary, at the Centre, is posted at the Headquarter of each Army Command, who apart from being advisor to the GOC-in-C, is answerable to the Director General Defence Estates and through him to the Ministry of Defence . The Cantonment Boards are functioning efficiently and discharging their duties to the extent their funds permit.

Web Project designed by EDP Department Cantonment Board, St Thomas Mount